Waiting

image

 

 

They diagnosed me as having voluntary mute aphasia, to some extent they were right.
I daren’t speak. I had seen things they wouldn’t believe, knew things that should never be told.
It had all been a huge mistake. The baby the Kehoes had longed for lived. I wasn’t needed, but in that split second a decision was made… the wrong one.
I found myself on a maternity ward without a mother.
They presumed the mother had abandoned me in a hospital, despite the lack of evidence on CCTV.
There was a solution, but as a baby I didn’t have the necessary skills needed to execute the return, also I needed someone my age to die so I could swap places, then they would live.
The call came in Angel tongues. An RTA, I understood, quickly stripped off, covered myself with a blanket and reached for the light…..

Leave a Reply

