The Child Inside

image

The child inside.

Last week it was an elf, the week before a wizard, now today …
“So why are you dressed as Santa? For Gods sake, it’s April. Grow up.”
He has shadowed me since the moment I left the surgery with a prescription for anti depressants.
“When did you lose your sense of humour? We used to have a lark, you and me. What’s made you so dour, dull, angry and anxious all the time? Live a little, laugh a lot.”
“Anxiety. Depression. Call it what you like, it’s life. I’ve grown up since I invented you.”
“You didn’t invent me, I came as part of the childhood package. I was your friend when you were young, I am your inner child now, just let me out.”
I stared ahead. Ignored him. Tried to fight it.
He chuckled, leant over and whispered to me. “Remember that time….”
I smiled.

Leave a Reply

