Almost

image

 

Almost

It was a mild spring evening, the birds were singing and as I walked away I thought how smoothly it had gone.

The money was in the bag, hidden in the second cubicle of the toilets, the back door unlocked exactly as per the instructions, it could hardly have been an easier job.

The message said to jump the bus to the coastal road, where a car would be parked with its bonnet up. Stand by the car and thumb a lift back. I would be paid when I handed over the bag.

The driver sympathetic and chatty, dropped me off.
I thanked him profusely, and casually sauntered off, swinging my arms gently by my sides.

Gently?

Oh no! The bag!
I turned.
Too late. The car was already speeding off down the road, with the bag still in the car, and did I hear the driver laughing?


Leave a Reply

